How to eat Lychee

image

Lychee is a fruit with tough skin thats is pinkish-red when it is ripe and green when it is not. It is a tropical and subtropical fruit native to a few providences in China, but can now be found around the world.

At the hotel in Kyoto, there is complementary breakfast and served at that breakfast is lychee. I, being the fruit lover that I am, decided to try lychee without trying it before. I got the little fruit and tried to open it. I tried to bite it open, to cut through the middle, and nothing worked. I didn’t know how to get past the strong skin so I looked up on Google: “how to open a lychee” and the first result was “WikiHow: How to Open a Lychee Fruit: 4 Steps”.

I read that page and it said that to open a lychee, I need a lychee(naturally), and a knife. Take the said knife and make a circle around the stem located at the top of the fruit. So, I did. After the nearly-transparent fruit was revealed, the WikiHow told me to peel away the skin. Once I did that, I ate the fruit.

It tastes like a rose flavored grape with a large (large compared to the size of the fruit) pit/seed in the middle. Lychee doesn’t look the same on the outside as it does on the inside. If you ever come across one, don’t judge a book by its cover, crack it open and give it a try.

One thought on “How to eat Lychee

Leave a Reply

